The College of Behavioral and Social Sciences has honored Professor and Chair Rochelle Newman of the Department of Hearing and Speech Sciences on being named as a Distinguished Scholar-Teacher for 2020–21.

The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Program honors members of our faculty who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement as well as outstanding accomplishments as teachers. This program recognizes those who have led the way in both areas and who thus serve as models of excellence for the faculty of a top research university. 

Each year, the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs selects a panel of former Distinguished Scholar-Teachers to review nominees for the award. 

“I'm very honored, and it was especially meaningful to see that so many former students, mentees and colleagues had written on my behalf,” Professor Newman said. 

Professor Newman was selected alongside outstanding faculty across the University of Maryland: Steven Klees, Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education; Thomas Murphy, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Xiaoli Nan, Communication; Derek Paley, Aerospace Engineering; and Saúl Sosnowski, School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures. 

“I join with the entire college and the Department of Hearing and Speech Sciences in warmly congratulating Rochelle on this well-deserved honor,” said Dean Greg Ball. “Rochelle's teaching, leadership, guidance, scholarship and advocacy have greatly benefited her students, her colleagues in the field, and the entire university community."

Professor Rochelle Newman