Graduate School Fellowships / Awards

Please note: Most of these fellowships have limited numbers of departmental applicants; that is, only one or two applicants may be nominated per department. As a result, our department must select which students to nominate, necessitating an earlier departmental deadline than the posted graduate school deadline. The deadlines listed below are the university-wide deadlines; all applications are due to the department's Director of Graduate Studies by the Tuesday that is at least 1 week prior. (Thus, for a Wed., February 20 deadline, the application would be due to the DGS by February 12.)

These are one-semester awards intended to support outstanding doctoral students who are in the final stages of writing their dissertation and whose primary source of support is unrelated to their dissertation. Wylie Dissertation Fellowships carry a stipend of $10,000 plus candidacy tuition remission and $800 toward the cost of health insurance. The Graduate School awards approximately 40 Wylie Dissertation Fellowships per year. 

Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship

Graduate Dean's Dissertation Fellowships are one-year awards intended to support outstanding doctoral students who have advanced to candidacy. The fellowship carries a 12-month stipend of $25,000, plus candidacy tuition remission. Ten fellowships will be awarded.

Graduate Dean's Dissertation Fellowships

The Summer Research Fellowships provide support to doctoral students at “mid-career,” that is, in the period approximately before, during, or after achievement of candidacy, and are intended to enable students to prepare for or complete a key benchmark in their program’s requirements. Summer Research Fellowships carry stipends of $5,000; awards were made to 47 students in summer 2011.

Student Summer Research Fellowship

This award was established by the daughters of Dr. Mabel S. Spencer. It honors the memory and outstanding professional achievements of Dr. Spencer. It carries a stipend of $15,000 and candidacy tuition remission (if not covered by other tuition remission). Dr. Spencer was dedicated to programs that encourage women, underrepresented minorities, and international students. 

The Dr. Mabel S. Spencer Award for Excellence in Graduate Achievement

This award was established by Mary Jack Wintle (Mrs. James W. Longest). It honors the memory and outstanding personal and professional achievements of Dr. James W. Longest. It provides $2,000 to support doctoral dissertation research in the social sciences with potential benefits for small and/or disadvantaged communities. Candidacy tuition remission also will be granted for each of two semesters (if not covered by other tuition remission). 

Dr. James W. Longest Memorial Award for Social Science Research

This award offers $1,000 to an outstanding doctoral candidate who has demonstrated excellence beyond his or her course work, and who has served at least one academic year as a teaching assistant with a commendable performance. 

The Michael J. Pelczar Award for Excellence in Graduate Study

This award offers $1,000 to a student who “best exemplifies interdisciplinary scholarship achievement.”

The Phi Delta Gamma Graduate Fellowship

The Graduate School invites colleges to select outstanding students for the Graduate All-S.T.A.R. Fellowship for AY 13-14.  The Graduate All-S.T.A.R. Fellowships are intended to support and honor graduate students who are both outstanding scholars and outstanding graduate assistants. Graduate All-S.T.A.R. Fellows will be featured on the Graduate School website. 

All-S.T.A.R. Fellowship

This award recognizes original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline. Both methodological and substantive quality will be judged.  Awards will be given each year in four broad disciplinary areas: 1) Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering; 2) Social Sciences; 3) Humanities and Fine Arts; and 4) Biological and Life Sciences. The Council of Graduate Schools uses these categories for its annual national dissertation awards. Recipients of the Distinguished Dissertation Award will receive an honorarium of $1000 and may be nominated by the University for the CGS national award.

The Distinguished Dissertation Award


Last modified
09/07/2023 - 10:47 am